Home > New WebinarJam > New Webinar Setup > Replay > WebinarJam: Keeping Your Webinar Private

WebinarJam: Keeping Your Webinar Private

This article is for:

WebinarJam

 

Webinars are a very important part of business. Your business may require private webinar events, so offering that option is just as important.

Keeping your webinar settings at the right level of privacy depends on the webinar provider you choose.

NOTE: Some users may only have YouTube as a Webinar Provider.

 

WebinarJam Live

Webinar Provider: WebinarJam Live

NOTE: Only available to those with the Jam Upgrade

Your webinar is recorded directly to our servers and is available via your replay link or for download. This is the most secure option and the easiest to set up. 

  

TOP

YouTube

Webinar Provider: YouTube

If you use the YouTube Provider for WebinarJam, you must confirm privacy within your YouTube channel settings. WebinarJam is an encoder to YouTube.  While we'd love to have total control over their settings and make all our lives easier, sadly we don't. This means, on occasion, YouTube will still try to make your webinar public. Following these steps will help keep your webinar private. 

  

Changing your YouTube Live Streaming Channel

Setting up Live Streaming on your channel with default settings helps reduce the stress and worry of forgetting to change the settings during the webinar. We will cover those steps now. First, go to YouTube.com/live_dashboard
  1. Confirm you are on Live Streaming/Stream Now (Marked #1)
  2. Scroll down (Marked #2 Below)
  3. Change the Privacy setting to "Unlisted" from the dropdown (Marked #3 Below)
  4. Click "Advanced Settings" (Marked #4 Below)

 

This means that every Live stream you do will be unlisted. However, you can change it as necessary.

  • Be sure you are on "Advanced Settings" (Marked #1 Below)
  • Uncheck both boxes under "Promotions" (Marked #2 Below)
  • Confirm that Embedding is checked (marked #3 Below)

Read Troubleshooting Embed Settings if your Embedding is not allowed.


TOP

Why "Unlisted" instead of "Private"?

NOTE: If the YouTube listing is "private" instead of "unlisted", your WebinarJam replay links will not work.  Similarly, if you choose not to make a replay available, then your video will be saved in YouTube as public.  

Better to make it available, choose private, then immediately after your webinar, edit the webinar to make the replay unavailable.  That way the recording stays unlisted in your YouTube account.

What does "Unlisted" mean?  

From YouTube:  "The video will not appear in any of YouTube's public spaces, such as search results, your channel, or the Browse page, but the link can be shared with anyone."

 


TOP

 

NWJ072517MJS